The Sri Lankan cricket team started their training sessions ahead of the limited overs series against India. The India-Sri Lanka series starts on July 18th with the first ODI in Colombo. The series was originally scheduled to start on July 13, but had to be postponed for security reasons after COVID-19 cases hit camp in Sri Lanka.

With all Sri Lankan players tested negative for COVID-19 according to their latest reports, the home team cricketers have come out of isolation. On Wednesday the official Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) YouTube channel released a video of the players practicing on the nets ahead of the India series.

As a precaution, some members of the team were even seen in protective clothing during training. Sri Lankan players were seen working on their batting and bowling skills on the nets.

The Sri Lankan cricketers had to spend extra days in isolation after returning from England as their punch coach Grant Flower and data analyst GT Niroshan tested positive for COVID-19. Another player, Sandun Weerakody, later also tested positive for the deadly virus.

Indian cricketers, led by Shikhar Dhawan, have also trained in Sri Lanka. Fortunately, the Indian camp has so far been safe from COVID-19 cases.

Referee Kumar Dharmasena among the India-Sri Lanka series match officials

On Tuesday, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced the names of the match officials who will be part of the White Ball series between India and Sri Lanka. The very experienced Ranjan Madugalle has been appointed match referee for the upcoming series. The list of arbitrators includes Kumar Dharmasena who is part of the ICC Elite Panel.

Ruchira Palliyaguruge, Raveendra Wimalasiri, Lyndon Hannibal and Prageeth Rambukwella are the other four referees to officiate in the India-Sri Lanka series. All are part of the international ICC panel.

Previously, SLC had also informed about the schedules of the India-Sri Lanka series. While the ODIs begin at 3:00 p.m. local time, the T20I games begin at 8:00 p.m. local time. All six games in the series will be played at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

In the course of the COVID-19 crisis, SLC has rescheduled the dates for the India-Sri Lanka series in consultation with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). The three ODIs will now be played from July 18th to 23rd and the T20Is from July 25th to 29th.

For the latest news, live scores and interviews from the world of cricket, click here!