New Zealand made history on Wednesday (June 23) when it became the first nation to win the WTC finals. The Blackcaps beat India in the summit battle for the title of the ICC World Test Championship.

It was a complete team effort by the Kiwis in Southampton. Every XI player played his or her role in the WTC finals perfectly. Ultimately, it was a 96-run partnership between Captain Kane Williamson and veteran pro Ross Taylor that helped New Zealand pursue India’s 139-run goal for victory.

The historic WTC finale lasted six days. Here’s a look at some interesting stats that came up after the last day of this epic game.

1. New Zealand wins its first ICC trophy in two decades

The last time New Zealand won an ICC trophy was in 2000. Incidentally, the Blackcaps defeated the Indian cricket team and won the ICC Knockout Trophy 2000-01 in Nairobi.

Almost 21 years later, the Kiwis won their first World Test Championship. They defeated India, Pakistan and the West Indies at home to qualify for the final. In the summit battle, they defeated India again to win the trophy.

2. Virat Kohli became the first Indian captain to lose an ICC tournament final in two different formats

This was the fifth time the Indian cricket team lost an ICC tournament summit match. The last time India lost an ICC final was in the 2017 50-over Champions Trophy final against Pakistan, when Virat Kohli was the team’s captain.

Under Kohli’s leadership, India has now lost another ICC tournament final, this time in a test format against New Zealand. This makes Kohli the first Indian captain in cricket history to lose the ICC tournament finals in two different formats.

3. Ravichandran Ashwin became the top wicket taker in the World Test Championship

Ravichandran Ashwin was the only Indian bowler to score a wicket in the final innings of the WTC final. The Tamil Nadu-based off-spinner dismissed the two kiwi openers Devon Conway and Tom Latham in the second innings.

After acquiring Conways Wicket, Ashwin became the leading wicket taker in the World Test Championship. He overtook Australian Pat Cummins (70 wickets) and finished the competition with 71 wickets in his name.

4. Jasprit Bumrah recorded the 1000th test duck for India during the WTC finals

Jasprit Bumrah didn’t get going in the WTC finals. He remained wicketless in both innings and failed to score a run with the bat in two innings.

The Indian pacemaker recorded the 999th duck of an Indian test player during the first innings of the WTC final. Tim Southee sacked Bumrah on the fourth delivery of his second inning before opening his account as the tail-ender scored the 1000th duck for India in Tests.

5. Seven tournaments, seven different champions

While many fans are of the opinion that international cricket is no longer as competitive as it was before, an interesting statistic emerged after the WTC final. Since winning the Indian Champions Trophy 2013, not a single team has won two ICC events.

There have been seven different champions in the last seven events. India, West Indies, Australia, Sri Lanka, Pakistan, England and New Zealand have each won a title. In addition, Bangladesh won the 2020 ICC U-19 World Cup. Hence, it would be wrong to say that international cricket is dominated by only two or three teams.